THE WRITING PROCESS BLOG TOUR

I was asked by childhood friend and writer, Joanne Best, to participate in The Writing Process Blog Tour. Please take a look at her wonderfully energetic writing here:   Joanne Best

The Writing Process:

1.) What are you working on?

I write poetry and essays regularly, but my main priority is my short fiction collection. It’s called Fairview.  This year I submitted ten stories (10,000 words) in a preview manuscript to a publisher and they verbally said “yes” they want to do a book with me. And want 30,000 words. I now have the 30,000 (compiled from previously published and new work). I haven’t submitted the finished manuscript to him yet as I’m waiting for more particulars so am not committed.  I haven’t submitted Fairview to anyone else yet and first need to do that (due diligence). That’s work. And fees. And waiting.  So I’m quite driven editing and reordering and improving the manuscript creatively. It needs to “work” and can be better. And that means endless reading of myself (it gets old) and feedback from those I respect. A lot of my time is spent thinking about it too.

2.) How does your work differ from others of its genre?

It’s timeless hah. Seriously, being a lyric poet who writes light verse, free verse, senryu, prose poetry, beat etc, and a writer of literary short fiction, essays and prose, it’s hard for me define myself at this point or where I fit. I think I’m unpredictable and cover a wide range of subjects, but I guess readers could tell you what makes my work different.

3.) Why do you write what you do?

Words intrigue. Simple, clear, unassuming language (written/verbal), turns me on. The world is too noisy with much extraneous discourse, too verbose, and I aspire to be as brief, concise and to the point as possible.  In person too. Less is best. I write poetry to indulge my love of the wild and abstract. One never knows where it’ll lead. I write fiction and essays to be precise. They’re very different modes.

4.) How does your writing process work?   

I write “live” in Facebook Notes. I have 1000 or so poems, stories and essays there and three years of work. I write something new there every day and go back regularly to edit what I’ve written. I guess you could call it my “portfolio”, as it’s a storehouse of my work.   From Facebook if something’s “blogworthy”  I’ll put it up on petearmetta.com. And to a lesser degree I tweet and push out to Linkedin.  It allows me to look at my stuff more objectively when I know any random person can read me!  At one point I consider each piece  for a manuscript, so having Facebook and petearmetta.com helps me to really assess and determine what to work on, and get it submittable.   As far as the “process” or muse which I think really is this question, I’m very supportive of my muse. That means whatever and whenever something needs to come out, I let it. I don’t think too much about it really and have always been lucky. An influential book for me called The Art Of Readable Writing by Austrian Rudolph Flesch (1949), advocates lots of sloppiness and “throwing jello up against the wall” and not being fussy or overly controlling about precision and outcomes etc. At first. And to write in “plain talk”, the way people actually speak.  I’ve learned that the more relaxed and free I am about this very loose process, the better the results.  That being said I’m always ready to sit down and work on something.

5.) Take at look at these writers, some of my faves. Let’s hope they’ll share what makes them tick!:

Fransi Weinstein:  Fransi

Melody J Haislip: Melody

Trent Lewin:  Trent

Lori DiNardi:  Lori

Thanks for letting me be part of The Writing Process Blog Tour!

blogtour

17 thoughts on “THE WRITING PROCESS BLOG TOUR

  1. Pingback: Please Allow Me To Introduce Himself ~ Writing Process Blog Tour ~ Pete Armetta | joannebest

  2. Thank you Sir. And thank you for sharing. I really enjoyed reading this. And congratulations on Fairview. That is spectacular news. And very well-deserved.

  3. Great stuff, Pete; if you are a friend of Joanne’s, that’s good enough for me! Now following you! Alienora

  4. Pingback: Blog tour: The writing process | 365 And Counting

    • I read your poem.

      I have a friend who says “I have writers block” and has been saying it for a long while. I think the relationship with our muse is unpredictable and it’s really necessary to throw out something you may not be happy with, but it is what it is.

      You wrote this, right? I’ve written many things that I think really are going nowhere and wind up somewhere. Like this piece did.

      I linked you up on the blog tour if you’d like to participate. I must say I’m glad Joanne asked me to to do it.I just read and really enjoyed Fransi Weinstein’s responses. I think it’s a great exercise, very thought provoking.

  5. Pingback: The Writing Process Blog Tour | Lori's Lane

Leave a Reply

