THE LAST THING ON MY MIND

I’m having a fun stream-of-consciousness moment, so welcome. I’m in a free-hand kind of mood, so suspend belief. I have a music thing is where I’m at and sometimes I know it’s my own little secret, one of those things I’d say if asked “what’s the one thing we don’t know about you”. I spend a lot of time listening to many genres, too broad and beyond logic and unnecessary to try and define or list or egads examine, but overall I would assign a certain “power pop” sensibility to my tastes.

We are what we come from.

Being an aesthete a lot of what I’m truly attached to is poetic and layered and “pretty” in nature, but in a larger sense I think is timeless and has a certain universality to it (is that a word?) I do consider much of it poetry, and written by poets- don’t get me started! And played by those who have an aesthetic sense about them too. It’s all quite esoteric, and clubby.

It’s where I’m at baby!

The lyrics follow for “The Last Thing On My Mind”, written and recorded in the early sixties by Tom Paxton and covered by dozens and dozens of artists, the likes of Harry Belafonte, Pat Boone, Chris de Burgh, Glen Campbell, The Carter Family, Johnny Cash, Marianne Faithful, José Feliciano, Anne Murray, Willie Nelson, Gram Parsons, Phil Everly, Dolly Parton, Charley Pride and those Seekers. I only bring up these people as there must be something to it, right?

But The Move’s version did it for me. When I was seventeen.

Isn’t it beautiful poetry? I’m learning to play my own jingly-jangly version of it on my guitar- it’s fun.

It’s a lesson too late for the learning
Made of sand, oh it’s made of sand
In the wink of an eye my soul keeps on turning
In your hand, in your hand

Are you going away with no word of farewell?
Will there be not a trace left to find?
Well I could have loved you better
I didn’t mean to be unkind
You know that was the last thing on my mind

As we walk my thoughts are a tumbling
Round and around, round and round
And underneath my feet the subway’s trumblin’
Underground, underground

Are you going away with no word of farewell?
Will there be not a trace left behind?
Well I could have loved you better
I didn’t mean to be unkind
You know that was the last thing on my mind?

You’ve got reasons of plenty for going
This I know, this I know
And the weeds they are steadily growing
Please don’t grow, please don’t grow

Are you going away with no word of farewell?
Do you leave not a trace left to find?
Well I could have loved you better
I didn’t mean to be unkind
You know that was the last thing on my mind.

I find it inspiring, creatively. Just artful. And it gives me insight into my own art. And sweeps and pauses and crescendos. So I’ve been walking around with it for a couple of days here. It’s the soundtrack in my head.

That’s it. Thanks to the guys.

The Move-The Last Thing On My Mind circa 1970 from the album Shazam!

7 thoughts on “THE LAST THING ON MY MIND

  1. This has been with you a long time. It’s definitely an important influence and source of inspiration. A musical muse, maybe?

Leave a Reply

