HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD

Happy birthday
It’s been a long time since I’ve seen you
Over twenty years at least
I remember the last time like it was yesterday
But that’s not what I remember most

I remember the day I forgave you
For all the years of conflict and strife
And for being a target
Of your ignorance

You didn’t know any better?

I remember the day I forgave you
I remember more than anything
Because you were the Dad
And I was the child
And it wasn’t my fault

That’s how I see it

I don’t remember the actual date that you died
But I remember it wasn’t a good day at all
That’s why every year I celebrate
Your birthday

Because I’m glad I grew up enough
Over all these years
To have reconciled
Who I am
With who you were
And to move on from that

Happy birthday Dad
I love you.
happybirthdaydad

16 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD

  1. This is really beautifully written Pete; straight to the point but kind. And I sense in your words a forgiveness which enables you to move forward and be able to say “I love you” and mean it. 🙂

  2. Pete, I wish I could come to a similar place with my Dad. I did with my Mom. My Dad is so much harder to forgive. Thank you for reminding me of the work I need to do. Beautiful poem.

  3. With your community, I commend you for the act of Forgiveness you have done, &, appreciate the manner in which you’ve written about it.

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

