MUSE

you engage
and impress
and delight me

entertain
and incite
and don’t bore me

you keep me occupied
inspired
and my hands always full

wake me up
til i sleep
me you drive
simply batty

is there anything that could possibly tame you?

you’re insatiable
a child
and a force to be reckoned with
i am gentle and willing
while you’re all over the map

nothing you do would surprise me

you’ve a plan to the kill
only god knows the point
so i bow and i bend
for what else would I do?

there’s no explaining at all
not the whats or the hows
or just why i relent
i’m a vehicle

if only i could lasso and bottle you

gotta go with the flow
anytime
anyplace
at the store
in the shower
you’ve the power it’s true

and i’ll laugh
and i’ll cry
i’ll accommodate i swear
it’s so easy to do
when i shut myself up
and turn off and tune out
cause you own me

you engage
and impress
and delight through and through

i’ve the time
i’ll be good
you’re my muse.
muse

9 thoughts on “MUSE

    • Miss you bud! I see you’ve fulfilled your desire to ration out your online time. Good for you! But nice to see you around here. Thanks for the nice words and hope you’re doing well.

      • Have had a lot on my plate, lately. But as I’m hashing it out a more concrete plan begins to exist that makes it all a bit more oversee-able. Gives me rest in my head, and rest in my head = more time to leave comments and blog 🙂

  1. Oh, I love this! So, so true. And it does happen anywhere, anytime. Sometimes at the worst possible times. But thank God it does. As for you and your muse, you have got a great thing going on!! Trust me, you don’t want her ‘tamed’? And neither do those of us who so enjoy reading your blog.

  2. Wow thanks and no it could never be tamed haha it’s the part of “self-awareness” of which you wrote that we never want to try and intellectualize too much really. 🙂 Appreciate your kind words and of course knowing you as well!

  3. Want to hear something really sappy? No, you say? Well, I’m going to tell you anyway. My muse was my first dog (he has a page dedicated to him on my blog). When he died in ’09, I didn’t write for 6 months. I didn’t know how I’d ever write again without my muse. Then, I got a call to have a short story published, and that story happened to be about him. After six months and that special call, I knew it was time to write again. Anyway, didn’t mean to make that about me. Your poetry gets me thinking, which makes it great poetry. Thanks for sharing it, Pete.

Leave a Reply

