I’M NOT A BLOGGER

I’m a writer, who happens to have a blog. And who also happens to post what I write on Facebook too. Every day. It’s how I roll. In the last year and a half since I’ve been writing full-time I’ve written over seven-hundred stories and poems and essays- so many that I don’t even remember lots of them! It’s all quite a personal accomplishment in and of itself and a hot mess which I’m very happy about and wouldn’t be able to change if I wanted to.

I wouldn’t want to.

My blog and Facebook daily routine is how I personally publish and “finish” each piece. At least the first draft. That of course doesn’t include the couple of dozen or so e-zine and journal publications and the fellowship short-list and my book that I’ve been lucky enough to have earned. With all of this, my writing isn’t any type of personal statement really or any longing for anything or provocation or how I’m feeling at the moment or a need to be understood. It’s simply me trying to expand what I do and get better at my craft and a point in my evolution as a “professional”, you know.

Like a carpenter tries to build better and bigger things as he practices and gets better and grows.

That analogy’s not so great but I’m sticking with it for now. All that being said, although I have an active blog, I’m not a blogger per se. I’m not looking for hits or interactions or feedback of the sort on where my head is or some type of psychoanalysis which many folks seem to want to do, the whole trying to figure out where I’m at thing. I do it all simply for the writing and have no need to be personally understood. If anything my writing is simply a snapshot in time and a fleeting moment. I could write something very sad, but that doesn’t mean I need comfort nor am sad when I write it. It means I’m tapping into that sad part of me which of course is just part of the range of human emotion. And purely tactical. I could be as happy as a clam at the time, really. On the other hand I could be horribly depressed, even crying, and come up with some silly-assed, rhyming and sappy, happy story or poem. That doesn’t mean I’m silly-assed and sappy or happy though when I write it.

Am I making any sense? I think I’m trying to say something, but I’ll leave that to you. You are the reader after all. But I do deliberately try to write to every type of emotion be it happiness, sadness, fear, depression, guilt, frustration, shame, pride, etc. (as the list does go on…)

All THAT being said, if you yourself have a blog, do you consider yourself a writer or a blogger? Why is it you do what you do? I put up the question as I do think there’s some value in the exercise of self-assessment, right? Sometimes I think I do it all simply to pass the time. Well, I have lots of time at this point in my life and need to fill it see? And writing and thinking about writing and editing and manuscripts and the “business” of writing pretty much takes up all of my waking hours. And my sleeping ones too. It sure the hell is better than most activities and I do take it all pretty seriously.

But I’m not trying to prove anything to anyone.

Except maybe myself. I do feel some sense of obligation though to clarify my intentions in general to those who read me. My blog is a creative expression of mine, as is the shed that the carpenter may build, although I don’t know how serious he may be about it, or whether he considers it a creative endeavor, or whether he even cares. I figure I have many years left to grow as a writer, and my blog isn’t at all my be-all-end-all. It’s where I’m at right now. It makes me happy and I’m proud of it.

For the moment.

Until I move on. The carpenter may grow in his craft and stop building sheds and then build ships or something more ambitious, I don’t know. Maybe someday I won’t blog at all and be a famous screenwriter where film is my medium. Or have a series of books that can be bought in the supermarket and Oprah will have them in her book club. Who knows? Or cares? For now my blog is where I’m at and it’s quite gratifying and it’s part of my “process and procedure”, that’s about it.

It’s not anything more.

Are you a writer or a blogger? There’s a blog that I read regularly and the person casually once said that she is NOT a writer. I was like huh? I mean I was surprised as I read her blog every day and I like what I read and would never consider that she’s not a writer. Ever. That’s just weird to me. If she’s reading this she definitely knows who she is too and yes I’m giving you a big shout out! I think you’re an amazing talent. But apparently you consider yourself a blogger which is fine. And there’s a difference.

I mean you certainly are writing. But I guess it’s a matter of how one self-identifies and where they think they’re going with their writing.

And their blogging.

Right?

Of course there’s nothing at all wrong with being a blogger, it’s just not for me. And that’s pretty obvious as my blog could only be called modest and pedestrian if anything. And now that I really think about it, the same could be said for my writing.

31 thoughts on “I’M NOT A BLOGGER

  1. I consider myself both, but also see them as different mediums. A blog is an interactive medium, so don’t be surprised when people want to interact. While there are a lot of bloggers who write, there’s just as many who are artists or photographers or cartoonists.
    I think you’ve done a good job of separating your work from personal commentary. I understand, too, that sometimes getting solicitous comments feels a bit invasive and presumptuous, especially when you’re churning out actual work. It’s probably the nature of the beast, though.

  2. I am a writer who blogs. I have a couple of blogs. In one I write about the things I do for a living. Writing, marketing and strategic work. My hope is that clients and prospective clients read it, like what I’m saying and give me assignments. The other is for my pure pleasure in writing. I don’t consider myself a blogger because that is not how I earn my living. I am not a professional blogger. I am not influencing the decisions hundreds of thousands of folks make. On a good day, I entertain or inspire or challenge someone’s thinking or offer a different perspective that makes someone think. And if that doesn’t happen I’ve still had a good time because I love writing. So at the end of the day I’m lucky because I get to do what I love to do and if you want to join me, that’s nice. If you don’t it’s also ok.

    • It’s good you know why you do what you do, and you do what you do because you love it. That’s exactly my point, being razor sharp in focus on why we’re “here”. I like what I’ve seen of yours and your passion shows through Fran.

      • Thank you. And I very much enjoy your work. You’re very versatile and I admire that. I can write in different ‘voices’, but you can easily flip back and forth between essays and poetry and whatever and however else you want to express yourself, at that moment, on that day. Maybe your blog doesn’t have to be anything else but your canvas.

  3. I’m mostly a writer. Honestly Pete I don’t know how I ended up in blog world but if real blogging is about your own life, I don’t do that. Conversely, I’m clueless enough to read blog posts at times thinking they’re fiction. Some could be, I think, get more of a natural voice that way.

  4. By your definition I am a blogger – I post my poems, art, and photography as a way to share with other poets and artists and photographers. I find great satisfaction in interacting with others who enjoy these things as much as I do.

    In real life, I personally know 2 poets. The rest of my family and friends look at me like I have three heads when I broach the subject to them. (I don’t do that anymore!)

    It is fun to share, get feedback, and most of all, learn from others who share their crafts online.

    I agree with Fran – your writing is quite diverse to the point that I couldn’t pinpoint a particular style for you if I tried. I tend to gravitate toward your humorous pieces. They are a nice break from the seriousness of the poetry I read.

    Thanks, Pete.

    By the way, how come you enable comments if interaction isn’t a concern? Just curious…

    • Oh I love the interaction don’t get me wrong. and I totally appreciate folks who read and appreciate my writing. I’d be a fool (and slightly demented I think) to say I didn’t! πŸ™‚ It’s like Trent said that if folks think my blog is specifically about my own life or I write specifically about my own feelings that’s not true. I like your blog your Aberrant Art stuff is excellent. I understand when visual artists use it a blog as a vehicle for showcasing their work. It’s like a gallery without having to leave the house! I think that’s much different than those who solely write and I don’t mean to be harsh toward anyone either- only soul-searching πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like the stuff that I think is funny, thank you. Sometimes I think I’m the only one haha

      • soul-searching is good. I don’t think you are being harsh at all. Keep up the great writing and hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

  5. Thanks for sharing more insight into you, Pete. Plus, you really got me thinking. I started my blog because I was told I needed one to promote my short story anthology. It’s been 11 months now, and it didn’t really seem to promote my anthology as much as it did promote me as a blogger. I mean, I found I loved the social connection. I really don’t care anything for fb or twitter, though I’m on there just because I need to be for my writing. I’m really a social person, and it seems like blogging is a more personal social setting then the other sites. At least it seems that way to me. So, I’d say I’m both a writer and a blogger.

    Now, in response to your writing about emotions, I think that’s why I was drawn to your blog. It’s what I write about because I’m fascinated by human emotion and behavior. The novel I just finished is chock-full of emotion. My anthology has it too, and in the end, I like to show my characters learning from what their emotions have taught them. That’s just how I roll. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the thoughtful post.

    • I enjoy the social connection as well and do on FB and twitter too although use them primarily for writing (and my old high school friends I haven’t seen in 30 years haha) Yeh it’s not that the emotions aren’t real, it’s just that the writing should stand as that, a piece of writing. When it’s done it’s done is how I see it. No elaboration necessary really. Of course in this case it’s good to talk about I think as we spend time and blood and sweat pouring ourselves into our blogs, so it’s good to understand why I think. Thanks for reading I always appreciate you!

  6. Pingback: 7 Steps to Writing for a Living | Mark My Words…

  7. Pingback: Nothing is far-fetched « amaeguerrero

  8. egads! Do I have to pick? Alright…I am a writer. I don’t really write to air my dirty and or clean laundry. I write to “get it out” so to speak and move on. It’s more a creative endeavor than anything else. I write as a practice to hopefully one day make money at this crazy thing of one letter in front of and/or behind the other. Some stuff is true, some not, some a pull from this, that and the other. I have two blogs.. one is cooking with a personal spin, because I’m a lousy cook and need a hook. And the other is… well, you’ve read it. It’s lots of stuff. I’m a playwright, and a copy writer. But, I’d like to be published. Ah shoot… now I have to go write!

  9. Well you’re a super-blogger-writer then! πŸ™‚ Yeh making money that’s a whole ‘nother subject haha I wish you the best of luck I can’t see any reason why you wouldn’t. Cookin huh? I didn’t know that, that’s totally cool! Yeh you don’t have to pick, just where my head was at the time you know how to goes. We get SO serious hahh

  10. Like you I too want to be a writer and write till my last moments. And sometimes I get afraid of not being able to be one. At such times I say I can write for myself, for at the end of the day I am on my own. I am the biggest reader of mine.
    -Lokesh

    • Well I am a writer no doubt and love my blog and other bloggers out there too, but the blog will pass and it’s a creative endeavor and I’m emotionally invested only so much. Yes I’m a big reader of myself too haha but only as far as editing and critiquing myself, you know. πŸ™‚

  11. I am writer, not blogger.
    Because I just use my blog to know what the people want to read and whether my writing is what the people want to read.

      • They want to read what I put on my blog before buying my book.
        I also want to know what they want to read before selling my book.
        So, they can buy my book after reading my blog.
        So, I can sell my book after knowing what they want to read.

Leave a Reply

