HEARD OVER BOUILLABAISSE

She said, “You’re a nice person and I wish you the best of luck. I hope you find what you’re looking for.”

He heard, “You’re spineless and I’m glad to be rid of you. You’re indecisive and so mealy-mouthed I’m surprised you can get out of the bed in the morning!”

The waiter arrived with their Pinot Grigio and poured them each a glass. They remained silent until he disappeared out of view.

He said, “Thank you I appreciate your help and I”m confident things will go well.”

She heard, “Yeh I’ll find what I’m looking for as long as you ain’t around! I can’t take any more of your inane and relentless chatter. Sayonara and Arrivederci!”

She took a long sip and surveyed the room while he perused the menu. It was a toss up between the Bouillabaisse or their signature and world-renowned Jambalaya.

She said, “I’m sure we’ll see each other over the holidays.”

He heard, “If you come anywhere near me I’ll scream!”

He put down his menu. Bouillabaisse it is. He reached across the table for her hand and looked at her tenderly and wistfully. With her free hand she reached into her purse and took out a tissue and dabbed her eyes.

He said, “Yes, that’d be lovely.”

She heard, “It’ll be a cold day in hell!”

7 thoughts on “HEARD OVER BOUILLABAISSE

  1. Haha, if only people had the guts to say how they really feel. It would be so much easier to live. Then again, awesome writers wouldn’t be inspired much!

    Just wondering, did the waiter pronounce it Gree-gi-oow or Gree-zjoow?

    • PS: The disconnect between what people actually say and what’s going on in their heads is an endless source of fascination for me. Honest and meaningful communication is an art form I think.

      • Wow, that is so true. I’ve always thought that, but never thought of it as an art-form. It’s absolutely true. Where does this come from you think? Is it society that makes people uncomfortable with their personal opinion?

      • I think it’s a challenge for us to be self-aware enough to know what we’re truly thinking and feeling and have some clarity and peace with that. If there’s anything in the world that ought to be more black and white, it’s at least having a grip on who we really are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

