EYES OF YESTERDAY

memories consume me
but not memories of people or events
or successes and accomplishments

i’m here with my head back
looking up at the stars
and thinking back over the years
to times I did the same thing

things are different now

i remember being in places
places i loved
they’re all gone now
i’m not sure i’ve ever really been there
i mean now that i’m here

here with my head back
looking up at the stars
and forcing myself
to see them like i did before
to see them through my eyes of yesterday
from way before i got to this place
when it was easy to simply enjoy them

6 thoughts on “EYES OF YESTERDAY

Leave a Reply

