HERE IF YOU NEED ME

People are whores. I don’t mean prostitutes in the traditional sense. And I don’t mean all people of course. And I don’t say this in anger, it’s just a fact- whores! Social media and the internet remind me every day. On Facebook and Twitter and even the blogosphere it seems many good folks have a relentless need to market and advertise to me and show me their face and invite me to things to further feather their nests. Like I’m a hunk of meat, just sittin here. I feel violated now that I think about it! How much validation does a person need? It really amazes me and is quite confounding.

The nerve!

I’m not clicking anywhere I don’t want to and I’m not buying anything either!

But what’s it all about? Writers want me to read them and like their pages and buy their books and aren’t shy in reminding me constantly. I have a handful of virtual relationships where that’s the dynamic- me being part of their target market. Otherwise I never hear a peep from them. I don’t have any problem supporting anyone who’s working hard for success of course, but most of these people don’t reciprocate in any way. Why would I have any interest in someone’s book or page when they’ve never paid me any mind? Do they expect me out of the goodness of my own heart to pay them mind? Or do they think I’m a sucker? Or just have the time? I mean if they were involved in my writing or my life in any way it’d be different.

But they’re not.

It’s modern-day narcissism run rampant and really a bit impolite. There’s a certain amount of self-aggrandizement and puffery with folks nowadays that I just find distasteful. It’s not only social media of course it’s everywhere. These folks are on the school board and in church and the grocery stores and certainly in politics.  Just ask Mitt Romney. They’re not to be fended off! People want to get up in front of everyone and seem to have an awful lot to say.

Stop sellin me would ya? That’s not why I came to the party!

Well anyway, not a charming quality. And there is something to be said for a sense of decorum and respect, don’t you think? At least that’s how I see it. When I was younger I was louder, and definitely a more aggressive and high-profile kind of person. I thought this was virtuous. But it didn’t get me that far really. Nothing too long-lasting. As I’ve gotten older and hopefully wiser I’ve discovered there’s an art to being low-key and unassuming and steady and with humility. I’m here for you if you need me sort of thing. You know where to find me is the rule. And for me that applies to social media too. I’m a hard-working writer and write daily and my work can be found if one wants to read it (believe me). And writing is the loneliest kind of existence no doubt. Of course I like to share my work and do post it where it’s visible. And I’m very consistent. And methodical. Take it or leave it. Sometimes if I’m in a funny little mood I may tag a bunch of folks, just for the hell of it. But rarely. I’m not gonna clamor for any more attention than anyone will pay of their own volition.

I’m here if you need me.

A blogger friend of mind recently talked about “Serial Likers” and I’ve adopted the phrase, you know, in my mind. These are the bloggers who Like what you post but never have a comment or thought. Who are they? Sometimes they click Like so fast it’s not possible they’ve actually read anything. What’s the impetus behind this? And why me? Do I now have an obligation to start Liking on you regularly? What are you in this for? Is this a prompt to go to your page? If you want me to read you and be a participant in your effort and you have this burning desire for me to get to know you, you’re going to have to put a different kind of effort in.  If you want to truly engage I’ll be there. I do appreciate to no end the consistent group of folks that have been here for me and you know who you are. There’s no doubt that I’m a lucky man and it’s just icing on the cake that I genuinely love a lot of  your work. I’m gratified and encouraged. But when it comes to me clicking the Like button, I’ll do it when I read or see something I actually like, and I’ll say something too, well at least ninety-five percent of the time. If you’ve read this far hopefully it’s because you enjoy it, not because you’re looking for exposure. My time is valuable and so is yours.

So yeh. PHEW!

Okay so yeh, that’s the rant and now I’m exhausted here and it’s still dark outside. I’m laughing at me already, which is funny in and of itself. Good to get things off the chest, right? Besides, I’m sitting here aimlessly at the moment, so why not indulge?

Apparently you’ve got time.

Oh, Shana Tova. That’s Happy New Year in Hebrew. Tonight at sundown starts Rosh Hashanah which is nice, so it’s time for a big shout out. And eat apples and honey for a sweet New Year. I always thought that was a nice sentiment, and also think it’s cool that part of the holiday is to commemorate the anniversary of the creation of Adam and Eve. Did you know that? Well, I think it’s interesting to know. And you’re welcome. One good thing about my being here if you need me are ongoing tidbits of useless but curious information. And with Rosh Hashanah comes the reminder that it’s Fall, literally with yesterday’s Equinox, and obviously with this morning’s chill in the air. It’s a bit nippy! My thoughts have drifted to building fires and gettin snuggly and hot soup and bone boiling. It’ll still take me a couple of months to actually realize it’s not summer anymore. It’s a combination of denial and just, I don’t know, being an airhead? I’m not a big fan of winter or the cold and dark months, so that’s probably what it really is: I’m in denial simply as a coping mechanism.

Another one.

It’s Sunday morning at 4:30AM and it’s going to be a sunny and brisk day and I’m looking forward to it. I have my strong, strong coffee here and plans to clean myself up and get to church later which is always cool. It’s my day to see “the people”. Then it’ll be the start of another busy week.

I hope you have a good one and please make sure to Like this post and for more go to http://www.petearmetta.com or find me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter or Google or Youtube.

NOW!

17 thoughts on “HERE IF YOU NEED ME

  1. I admit i am slowly learning to work out the difference between those who like with a selfish motive of luring me in and those who actually are interested in what i write but i still feel obliged to go take a peek at anyone who clicks like or follows me

    • Quite a phenomenon I say. 🙂 If I read something or a piece of art of a photography impresses me, I like to be personal enough to comment. It feeds my muse and creativity for sure. I do try to “participate” in the whole thing best I can but I guess I don’t relate nor want to to the whole sales and marketing aspect of it all. I write to write and get better that’s pretty much my focus. Thanks for reading this early Sunday morning!

  2. Shana Tova to you too, Mr Armetta!

    This is a great post and I totally get what you’re coming from. Liking for the sake of liking doesn’t make much sense. I think it’s important to engage with your readers and writers that you follow otherwise, what’s the point? I totally get what you mean about people who like you quicker than they’ve had a proper chance to think about it!

    Happy Sunday to you, loved the finale of your post, by the way! 😀

    • I’d rather have fewer that and interact with them more than have a certain number of followers or certainly likes! 🙂 I know you get it, you’re part of my posse haha Thanks for reading Mrs. UK.

  3. Pete. Well said. I for one drink up what you write. I enjoy it and it contributes to my creative soul. I read to learn, grow, to be entertained, and to be part of a community of creative people. I use “likes” to encourage and to express my thanks for what an individual had the courage to share – because I feel what we do takes courage. All that said, I genuinely enjoy your writing and I look every day to see if you have posted that day.

    • Well thank you, and I wasn’t fishing at all by the way. Just trying to make sense of it I guess. I do appreciate you being around for sure and of course for hitting like too haha Thanks bud for the kind words. I too get a lot of satisfaction out of reading other people and getting to know them through their writing.

  4. “so why not indulge? Apparently you’ve got time.” That is funny stuff! Enjoyed the sincerity and, as always, the light-hearted tone of your writing, Pete.

    I hit the like button while scrolling through my reader if a photographer or artist posts something of theirs I like or if it is a short post or poem that I can read in its entirety in the reader and I like it. However, unless I have something burning to say in these cases, I don’t necessarily go to their blog and comment because honestly, I don’t have the time, but I still want them to know that I took notice and liked what I saw/read. If it doesn’t catch my eye or I don’t connect to it, I never hit “like” just for the sake of it. To me this is akin to lying.

    I find it very interesting that when I link my poetry to designated prompts I get 4 times as many comments and likes than when I merely post a poem without any announcement to the community that it is there. The people who comment on the latter are the ones I know who truly enjoy my writing. That’s a nice feeling.

  5. Just had another thought. I get a lot of new followers each month, but never hear from most of them again (not even a ‘like’ every now and again!) 🙂 Are they just following to get a follow back?

    This happens a lot on Twitter, too. I don’t get it, and I don’t follow back until I read some of their tweets or blog posts to know if I am interested in what they are writing about. anyway, now I am ranting – lol

    • Twitter I don’t get at all and don’t really care haha I mean I don’t think I really know how best to use it. 🙂 I often like without commenting although I try to say at least SOMETHING but I do think many just Like, as again I never heard a peep out of them otherwise. Thanks for your thoughts glad to hear/read them.

  6. Nail hit on head Pete. Glad there’s some real writers and participants like you out there, who write because they feel the need, not the need to amass stats. Your work speaks for itself.

      • Those bastards! We should round em up and drown them in vats of food dye. I mean seriously, why bother? What do you get out of it? Anyway, I hear the frustration, but in the end it’s the word scribbles that matter.

  7. I’m relatively new to blogging and it has taken awhile to sort out the chain mailing award systems and the mercenary likers. Even being Freshly Pressed ends up being a distraction that makes a person addictive to stats. I have to keep asking, reminding and prompting myself to remember why I am blogging. Writing out loud, plain and simple.

    Enjoyed this post, although I do think the word “whore” gets overused when people want to make a point, but I haven’t come up with a better word. And I haven’t had coffee yet, so feeling a bit humorless. I look forward to reading more of your writing. Thanks.

    • Me too, you’re right. That’s why I’m here. I really try to read as much of others and encourage when I can, so I guess I just wonder why people hit that like button 🙂 Too much thinking and I’m here for my words. So I’m glad to hear it from you! Thanks and hope your’e having a good Sunday so far.

      • When I’m trying to be a decent human being, I want to give them the benefit of the doubt. I have my days when I “like” something but am too lazy/tired/busy to comment, but feel the writer should get some kudos. Engaging dialogue is definitely preferred.

    • “mercenary likers” (I like that). Whore, yeh I’m sure I could come up with a few better choice words for what I think of the self-aggrandizer set! 🙂

  8. Pingback: PORED OVER | Pete Armetta

Leave a Reply

