HOBGOBLIN

Ralph Waldo Emerson said that “consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds”. Well my mind must be quite large because my life is anything but consistent. Especially lately.

I’ve been missing-in-action the last week. And a long week it’s been. That’s why I’ve been removed from my regular routine which includes my many hours of writing/virtual time and all that goes along with that. I’m back in the saddle, slowly but surely starting now (I guess), and hopefully a little more each day.

I’m recovering from pneumonia. I got back from the hospital yesterday. So it does feel good to be up at my normal early morning time sitting at my computer and drinking my coffee. I haven’t had coffee for a week, which under the circumstances I didn’t care as I had no craving. I also didn’t eat a thing for four days, I had no interest. That’s never happened before and was quite bizarre. I also learned a person can sleep for sixteen hours a day and still keep sleeping. I’d figured that’s just way too much, but I did it. The whole experience from start to finish of getting sick, treated, then home, has not at all a pleasant one, but I must say turned out as best it could in my modest circumstances. and the doctors I dealt with were truly awesome.

Time for some semblance of normality.

So I”m back and as motivated as I could be expected. I’ve lost time to make up and things to do. In addition to recovering, my house needs a total “recovery”. It’s a mess! I neglected it in the days leading up to going to the hospital and am going to slowly try and put it back together the way it’s supposed to be (according to me). My cat missed me and his love-deficit has been filled so that’s good. He’s always been so spoiled. I’ll never regret that.

My family ought to come calling one of these days soon. They’ve been good through this although I have to say they really made it their own big dramatic issue which didn’t help matters for me at all. But that’s what they do, and I guess what families just do.

Why fight it?

So time to get cracking, and get the groove going and the wheels turning again. God only knows I can only be consistent for so long. And a half a mug of coffee seems to be about all I can take. And these thoughts right here about all I can muster.

Time to go to sleep for a while.

12 thoughts on “HOBGOBLIN

  1. Poor you! Hope you will back to your beautiful poetry when you are feeling completely better. Take care of yourself & keep sleeping – it’s good for you. Hugs x

  2. Pete, I’m so sorry to hear what you’ve been going through. Over last Thanksgiving (2011), I spent 5 days in the hospital. I know how unpleasant the experience can be. My warmest healing wishes go out to you as you continue to feel better and better. God Bless.

  3. I appreciate your ‘philosophical’, (as well as well-written),’approach’ to what’s gottatahavebeen an unpleasant experience. Best Wishes, Always.

  4. My messages, too often, go ‘flying off’, &, I have no idea whether or not they get sent. Anyway, Welcome Home, (I imagine Surley is happy again to be with you!), &, Take good Good Care. Bev

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

