GO

how will you go?
will it be out in a blaze of glory
quickly and without warning
quietly and casually and
leaving behind only questions and wonder?

or will you go slowly?
enduring a long period of pain
with your body and mind shutting down
and you stomping your feet and refusing
to let go, with all of your might?

for some reason

or Β begrudgingly?
looking back with regret
and questioning the significance
of coming in the first place?

will you go enthusiastically?
knowing you did your best
made your life what you could
and became exactly the person
you were meant to be?

14 thoughts on “GO

  1. The stairway or steps are inviting I have to say. I wonder if this is what Jimmy Hendricks had in mind. I want to go “gentle into the night”.

    • Right? Something to think about no doubt. I don’t think any way is easier than the other, for those that are left. I’d rather go quick and easy though haha Thanks for reading poemattic, I appreciate it πŸ™‚

  2. My actual Plan is to be wafted to heaven on a cloud. Failing that, it’s not something I give a lot of thought. I almost made it out of here about 11 years ago, and the glimpse I had was enough to make me anticipate starting the next phase of my existence. It’s funny, my dad used to say, “Everybody wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die to get there.” πŸ™‚

    • Nobody wants to die to get there is right! haha your Dad is a wise man. πŸ™‚ I think about this kind of stuff all the time, oddball, existentialist, angst-ridden man that I am! A cloud sounds awfully nice too.

  3. I want to go quickly and enthusiastically, however, I am a foot stomper. I will have no regrets, but always seem to wonder if I did the best I could have. Great thought-provoking questions. Thanks, Pete.

    • Glad you got to share about it too. Yeh I’m no foot stomper haha take me Lord! πŸ™‚ I think we’re all over the place on this one, depends on the day or something.

Leave a Reply

