SKIN

I live inside you
I’ve not a choice
And you show me that you’re in charge

You’re either smooth and even and quiet
Or raging and relentless and zealous
Then I can’t help but touch you
To rub and to gnaw and to score you

You make sure I know that you’re here
Why do you demand such attention?

I hate you.

They say you were always here
But waited to come out
The last ten years with you have not been pleasant
Even when you go into hiding
Which you do whenever you want

Now that you’re back
Strangers on the street stare
I can tell because they lose eye contact
Take their eyes off my smile
And stare at you up and down

And wonder.

You make me self-conscious.

A manifestation of disease and mystery
Why me?
No one can say
Or give any reason
I want to accept you and
Just live in peace.

Has God sent you to punish me for my sins and my shortcomings?
I’m so sorry God
Please forgive me
You don’t give a man more than he can take right?

That’s what they say.

I live inside you
I’ve not a choice
I just want to live in peace.

15 thoughts on “SKIN

  1. LOL….As dramatic as it was, I had to laugh out loud too….you have such a great sens of humor of humor….and yet the seriousness seeps through at the same time….brilliant!
    Celeste

  2. In front of your humor, and the image you chose, got this back on my mind:
    “I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.” Alice Walker..
    Don’t know what’s up with WordPress, I’m not getting any notification of new posts from you, so tried to re-follow, hope it works…don’t want to miss any of this:)

    • I noticed you were following me again today, and wondered why! 🙂 That’s one of my favorite lines in Color Purple. And Alice Walker is one of my very favorite authors Temple of my Familiar is one of my all-time favorite novels. Thanks for reading and following again.

  3. You know, this is funny. ‘I live inside you’. That seems like the one who is in control, but you totally flip that on its head. Really interesting piece, Pete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

