MY MOM

There are countless reasons why I love and honor my Mom. What stands out most is how she always fostered a healthy spirit of self-reliance, independence and skepticism in me. This has served me well, and for this I’m eternally grateful.

For as long as I can remember, my Mom encouraged me to be genuine. She accepted me exactly as I am (which is good), but never pushed me to be what SHE wanted me to be. She left that up to me. She treated me as a person with unlimited potential, who could learn through my own experience how to live a happy life. And this fostered the same quality in me when it comes to how I treat others too.

Looking back, I realize now how times have changed for families. Growing up, my Mom was totally dedicated to my Dad and her four boys. We came first. My mom was always there, never waning, even through the most difficult times. Her personal sacrifice is something that, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to value more each day.

When my Dad passed away and we grew up into men, my Mom was free to pursue her own life. For the first time, she could do for herself. She got her first job “outside the home”. She entered the work world, nervous but excited! Even this many years later I remember that excitement and trepidation. She opened her own business and was quite successful in her own right. She showed the same steadfast commitment and joy to this endeavor as she did to our family all those years.

My Mom came from modest and unpretentious roots. She expects nothing from people except the same respect and sense of personal dignity which she shows them. This is why to me my Mom is the best. She taught by example, where actions speak louder than words. She has always been real with me, even at times when I may have not been the best son. Which has been often!

Happy Mother’s Day to my Mom. And thanks!

2 thoughts on “MY MOM

Leave a Reply

