THAT WAY

“I’m telling you, you have to let him down easy. You know he’s simply GAGA over you. He’s so enamored by you.”

Rebecca’s lips were pursed as they leisurely sat on the patio cafe, sipping their Cafe Americanos and enjoying the balmy day.

“Yeh I know Michael. But I don’t feel the same way about him. I CAN’T feel the same way. I have no interest in him.”

He leaned in closer to her. “Right, but you do know you can’t say THAT to him. I mean not that way. Just hearing it would crush him ya know.”

Why did it have to turn out like this? Everything was fine, she thought, until she realized he felt that way. Now things are uncomfortable.

The next morning she was in the kitchen, still in her bathrobe, preparing breakfast: an array of seasonal fruit, some goat’s milk yogurt, that natural granola that she seemed to live on. She looked at the clock and saw she really only had fifteen minutes or so before she had to get in the shower and get ready for work.

She sat down at the dining room table, plate in hand, and turned on her NPR to listen to the morning news. Same news as any other day, she thought. She scanned the headlines in the newspaper.

Unbeknownst to Rebecca, he had plans.

She heard her cell phone ring from the bedroom and looked at the clock. Geesh, who could be calling at this hour?

She walked into the bedroom and picked up the phone to see the caller ID. Oh, it’s him.

“Hello?”

“Hi Rebecca, it’s me.”

“Yes?”

“I was thinking of this great little spot for dinner. If you’re not doing anything after work today, you wanna meet up? It’s that new TexMex place in Old Towne. You know, the one that had that great write up in the paper this week? I think you’d really like it.”

Rebecca paused. Dinner, NO. I can’t do this anymore.

“Well, I can’t tonight. Maybe another night soon?”

Dead air.

“When, like tomorrow?”

How could I let him down easy? I don’t know how to do this. But better sooner than later.

“Well you know what, I just looked at my date book,” which she really did not, “and I actually can tonight.”

“Oh terrific. I’ll meet you over there around 6 or so? Do you know where it is?”

Rebecca hung up the phone. She looked at the clock and quickly sat back down at the table to finish up her breakfast. She went into the bathroom and disrobed and stepped into the shower. The hot water hit her face and she wondered how in the world she could tell him. She can’t help it she didn’t feel that way, could she?

She almost wishes she did.

2 thoughts on “THAT WAY

  1. “Unbeknownst to Rebecca, he had plans.”
    That line has an ominous quality… at least it leaves the door open that her rejection will not be taken well at all. Will we ever know? 🙂

Leave a Reply

