CLICKED

I’ve looked for you every morning for weeks. I haven’t seen you in what seems way too long. We’ve been through so much together over the years and I just miss you.

I so enjoyed those awesome pictures from your time spent in Cabo San Lucas by the way. You’ve lost so much weight since I’ve seen you! Who was that man in the picture with you? You know, the one of you sitting in that restaurant at that crowded patio table, being entertained by that mariachi band?

I just wasn’t sure from your body language if he could be your lover or not. Is he?

Great shot by the way.

It’s marvelous that your daughter got married, wow! Just to think I knew you before you had any children. Man, where has the time gone?

I hope I get to see you soon.

That was funny that cartoon with the two mice chasing each other through the kitchen ha ha. Where did you get that one?  Just to think people become so upset when they have real mice in their house, and generally don’t want to see them at all. But for some reason we really seem to enjoy them in cartoons and popular culture.

Or something like that.

Oh, you’re friends with Johnny? Man I couldn’t stand him back in the day. He just thinks he’s so damn cool.

Poser.

And congratulations on your new job! I wish you the very best on that. I know you’ve job-hopped for many years and hope you’re happy with what you’re doing now.

And it lasts.

Well I’ve clicked on your timeline enough for one day, but I haven’t yet had enough of you.

Why don’t you send me a message sometime?

17 thoughts on “CLICKED

  1. This is really nicely done, Pete. 🙂 The comment that was made about facebook, yeah, too true. It’s funny what you see about people’s lives. You stay in touch with them but often in this vague, inconsequential way, you know? This is a really interesting piece…

    • Thanks it’s a little weird. Well only because I think when we’re on FB EVERYONE looks around at everything, you know. But often they wouldn’t admit it as they feel voyeuristic or stalker-esque (yeh I just made up that term).

      It’s part of how things go nowadays I think Thanks for reading, again it’s an odd one haha

      • I’m going to start using the word stalkeresque, I like it! 🙂 You’re right, fb is full of snoopers! Esp the type who get an account and never post anything… they just pry into other people’s very public dialogues…

  2. I could feel the tension building as the main character kept browsing through the person’s timeline. You really captured every bit of that Facebook-inspired desperation 😉

    And the last line – that ached a little.

Leave a Reply

