HANG MY CLOTHES

I’m moving next month which is totally cool. I’ve been somewhat homeless for awhile and although I’ve had a place to lay my head, I’ve had no closets to hang my clothes.

Wears on the nerves.

So having my own place again is something I’m really looking forward to. Marking my own space (yes literally) will be a momentous occasion no doubt.

I’ve moved many times in this life as I’ve always had a bad case of itchy feet. This isn’t something acquired, it just is. I never stay anywhere too long.  And don’t want to. I consider this life a vacation and I consider a place to live a temporary stopping point, where I enjoy the scene and experience for awhile, then move on to the next one. How people can stay in one place forever I’ll never know.  It’s so not my nature. Because of this, I do have a lot of experience when it comes to finding a new home. And I’ve lived in what for me have been some incredible places! Based on my specific and what could seem like impractical criteria, it generally isn’t too hard for me to find something I like.

And somewhere to hang my clothes.

Last night a good friend and I were discussing it over a dinner of Chesapeake Bay crabs and artichokes.  He was excited and bombarded me with questions, which I answered with my usual and enthusiastic aplomb.

He asked, “Oh, and how many closets does it have?”

I replied, “I don’t know. I’m sure more than I need. I think a lot.”

He paused and considered this, then moved on.

“Does it have a dishwasher?”

I replied, “I don’t think so.”

“Don’t you know? Well that’s important you know. It matters.”

Smiling, “No actually it doesn’t matter to me at all.”

“Well, what matters then?”

“Well, it borders the park, that’s the first thing.”

I started to lose him.

“And the trailhead is 20 steps away from my front door, with a beautiful hike through the woods to the river. I took to that trail yesterday to experience it before I made my decision. And it all works.”

“Whaddya mean it all works? You actually took to the traill? Went over there and hiked it?”

“Well yeh why not? That’s one thing that matters to me most.”

Raised eyebrow. “Uh, okay. Well, what else do you like about it?”

“Oh the seediness and terribleness of the fifties façade is hilarious. It makes the whole scene look wonderfully tacky and campy.”

“Sounds ugly.”

Laughing. “Yeh I guess kind of ugly, but it adds a certain charm and irony to the whole thing.”

Confounded. “Okay. What are some other things?”

“Every window you look out you see green, and the front windows face east, which I like. The place has an enormous fireplace which is good for my health no doubt- and feeds my firebug personae.  It’s a natural enough setting there too so I won’t have that whole concrete existence thing going on anymore. That just wears on me. And I’ve looked at it on Google Earth a number of times, you know, on satellite, and it’s exactly where I’m supposed to be. I mean on this earth. The whole aesthetic just works.”

“I see.”  Scratches chin. “Do you pay for water & sewer?”

“No I don’t think so.”

He just shook his head. We got up to part ways and as we said our goodbyes he asked, “Well, do you need anything for the new place?”

“Yeh, hangers.”

11 thoughts on “HANG MY CLOTHES

    • Well thank you Jennifer. 🙂 And there’s MORE. I’m not a fussy person generally but I am fussy about some things like not having a northern exposure haha. Thanks for reading!

    • Me too. haha Well, I have to stick to it, instead of the conforming it seems I’m always encouraged to do. 🙂 It is what it is! 🙂 Thank you BP appreciate you reading.

Leave a Reply

