ONLY EMPLOYEE AT A WEDDING

I was the only employee at a wedding last night. Employee, well.  It was a catered affair, self-service, and I was to show up specifically to keep the bar and hors d’oeuvre table stocked and looking good, and set up the buffet table for dinner.  Also, pay some attention to the guests. Once the bride and groom were hitched and dinner was served, I also was responsible for the general clean up.

Yeh, the garbage.

I love this type of job though, for reasons I don’t need to go into. I happily milled about tending to things and chatting some people up, and the whole thing came quite naturally to me. The best part was I really didn’t do much at all, just enjoyed it. I did wind up doing more service at the buffet table than orginally planned though, but most certainly had  fun serving and joking around with the guests.

Through the rest of the evening random folks were coming up to me thanking me and telling me how delicious the food was, as if I cooked it myself.  I just agreed; nodding my head and smiling. I mean the food WAS good: racks of ribs and pork barbeque, brisket, mac n cheese, pickled beets, red skin potato salad and the rest! Why tell them I didn’t cook it?

So I worked, did my thing, got my pay, then I left.

7 thoughts on “ONLY EMPLOYEE AT A WEDDING

  1. I too catered a wedding once….it was a lot of work, but we had so much fun….I loved watching the bride and groom and all the guests laughing and dancing….I smiled all night, and not because it was part of the job, but because it truly reflected what I was feeling…..loved this post, it brought back some terrific memories….thanks Pete! 🙂

  2. I think the most interesting thing was why you loved the job so much… that you didn’t want to go into! You’re killing me! ugh. LOL

  3. Thank you dfb and celeste and ragdy, appreciate you reading. I loved the job “for reasons I won’t go into” only because I enjoy serving people and running around. And in this case I worked for a friend (whose daughter got married), it was on a beautiful piece of property, plus I only worked 4 hours and got paid generously. 🙂

  4. I often wish I worked with food. Cooking is one of the few things that I actually think I’m quite good at and food seems to bring people so much pleasure! That coupled with the fact that you’re undertaking a job where you’re active, doing something purposeful and enjoying good banter – sounds like a good night! 🙂

  5. It really is great fun, I enjoy it thoroughly (and then eat great before doing the garbage) haah I have a thing for grunt work, an odd quality, but true. 🙂 Thanks for reading katy, let’s go wait on some tables!

Leave a Reply

