VULTURES

I was driving down the country road and saw them up ahead. They were vultures.  A pack of them. Being I had my beater car flying sixty miles an hour, I figured I oughta slow down if I knew what’s good for me. They were standing in the middle of the road going at some vermin, which is certainly their prerogative; and what they’re meant to do actually. These are turkey vultures, merely buzzards- they aren’t real scary and not what you may conjure up in your mind when you think of the word “vulture”.  All they were doing was minding their own business and doing their natural thing.

It’s what vultures do.

Yeh, so what about people?  This morning I had on the TV in the background (which I generally hate and don’t do much), and some folks on a chitty-chat show were analyzing the current eating habits of Americans, to the point where it was paralyzing, really. Lots of wagging on of their tongues about protein, carbohydrates and electrolytes, debating the right and wrong things to do yippee ki-yay blah blah. I know you’ve hear it all before too, ad nauseum. One can’t really get away from it. These types of discussions and endless conversation and wonder about how we’re supposed to live as human beings has been going on for as long as I can remember. It’s across the culture really. Why is there such a confusion about things?

The vultures don’t ask any questions.

I currently live in the city but I’ve lived out in the country for most of the eight years I’ve been in Virginia. When I was in the country I lived either deep in the woods or along the foothills of the Blue Ridge.  I saw vultures and lots of other wildlife all the time. Of course there are pros and cons to both urban and city living,  but overall my opinion is while being in the city is certainly easier overall what with being closer to everything and being able to do more on any given day because of this, living in the country brings so much more to my overall spirit and satisfaction.  Satisfaction that I’m experiencing life the way it was meant to be.

Living as part of the natural order.

Oh so anyway why I mention the vultures is that I was driving down that road which happens to be close to one of the country places I’ve lived in a few years back. I have fond memories and a real connection to the general area, and personally it was one the best times for me. Those times in your life that you look back on with longing. I’ve been around this old stomping ground more than usual lately and it’s brought up some interesting and existentially-type thoughts for me. I’m lucky that  my day to day life does this often enough to keep things interesting.

I hope it’s the same for you.

In addition to the vultures I saw the usual deer on their morning routine, some guinea hens making a ruckus in a field adjoining the road, and the overall takeaway is that the sun just seems to shine brighter out there and the trees and panorama are more majestic and affecting.  I’m more connected.  As I got back home I pulled back into my apartment complex (more like compound), turned the key and walked in the place, and realized how for me at least it’s just the WRONG way to live. That if I’m really living up to who I am I’d do nothing but plan on getting back out to the woods again. Of course there are pros and cons to everything, right?  It seems though that living with so many other people on top of me every day and not being involved in the natural rhythm of things isn’t really doing me much good.

Majestic it’s not.

But there’s no doubt. When it comes to striving to be a better man everyday and to live my life as deliberately as possible, and we’re talking posterity here; I don’t have many questions about what’s natural and right. I just do it.

It’s what vultures do.

5 thoughts on “VULTURES

  1. Well said, Pete, and A-men to this! I love your correlation using the buzzards…no they do not question, doing what is natural, something we could all take notes from….beautiful thoughts….
    Loved your expression “wagging of the tongues”…I laughed out loud…
    And Ahhhh, the Blue Ridge, so beautiful and tranquil, gosh I miss it so.
    Soak up some of that Virginia sun for me, and shout out at the mountains, catching an echo for me….I loved doing this as a child. 🙂
    Celeste

  2. I can completely relate. I miss nature and beautiful surroundings and mountains and the smell of the ocean… ahh… but there are pros to where I’m at as well, homesick as I may get. Great piece Pete.

  3. Nature in it’s natural state fills my soul. Living in the city right now, not where I would rather be with the sounds of birds, wind through the trees, the song of insect and frog…and silence. But at least there are a couple of ancient oaks outside my door. That helps. Thanks for sharing Pete. Blessings

Leave a Reply

